1/11/13 UPDATE: All links active.

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Somber Blessings - The Winds of the Earth (1995)

Genre: Doom/Death Metal
Country: USA
Year: 1995

1. Intro
2. Hollow of The Three Hills
3. The Winds of The Earth
4. Mourn The Sunrise
5. In Death's Shadow
6. The Autumn King
7. Nevermore
8. So Sleeps The Dawn
9. Shall Weep No Longer

Download at Mediafire
Metal Archives


Hailing from Massachusetts, my next door neighbor (well, relatively speaking, considering some of the other stuff I post here from Finland or what have you) released this magnificent demo tape in 1995. Quickly becoming one of my favorite bands, this is a beautiful combination of death, doom, melody and a variety of other things. Quite an eclectic release, it's mostly Doom/Death with an emphasis on DOOOOOOM, utilizing mainly raspy death growls, but also including a very melodic and beautiful female vocalist. Some of the riffs can be very melodic and compelling, making this one of the best releases in the Doom/Death genre.

In addition to the above, other instruments are used on occasion such as a cello/violin and keyboards. These guys had a vision in the creation of this demo and their musical talent is shining through, blindingly bright.

1 comment:

  1. I listen to the demo and I think that it's brilliant, but there is something that puzzled me enough. The growlings seem to be same of a technical death metal band that till now I have not found the name. Alone I have listened to 3 or 4 tracks of this band and I have them recorded in a tape that I acquired in the middle of 1995. I really would be grateful for you if you know which band or album is.
    In advance thank you. Excellent blog.