1/11/13 UPDATE: All links active.

Monday, July 27, 2009

Dark Millennium - Diana Read Peace (1993)

Genre: Death/Doom Metal
Country: Germany
Year: 1993

1. Mission
2. Dead in Love
3. Of Sceptre Their Ashes May Be
4. Brotherhood Sleep... Back to Treasureland
5. Mechanismeffects
6. Fatehistory
7. Peace in My Hands
8. My Repertory of Grey
9. The Mindartist
10. In and for Nothing
11. Pandemonium
12. Myth

Download at Mediafire
Metal Archives


What the hell, Dark Millennium? Can't you stay consistent for more than two releases in a row? First we've got a vocal change, and now we've got a Melodic Doom/Death thing going on here. What's up with that? Now don't get the wrong idea, that is in no way to imply that this is a bad album. Not at all. This is a very good album, just an incredibly different style.

For starters, clean vocals. Yeah, didn't see that coming, either, especially after Of Sceptre Their Ashes May Be. The first real track "Dead in Love" consists largely of clean vocals and slower, melodic guitar leads and melodies. Different, to say the least.

Another thing worth noting is that the guitars seem to be lower in the mix and their famous riffs sometimes get lost in the background, as in they aren't as noticeable. I also found that there was some technical experimentation going on here. Some don't even seem old school at all. Once again, not a bad thing, just prepare yourself for a different style if you come in here expecting to hear the same thing as on Ashore the Celestial Burden.

All in all, a good album, depending on your tastes and how open-minded you are.

No comments:

Post a Comment