1/11/13 UPDATE: All links active.

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Carcaroht - Promo 94 (1994)

Genre: Death Metal
Country: Sweden
Year: 1994

1. Intro
2. As The Gates Fall
3. I Precide To A New Existence
4. Untitled

Download at Mediafire
Metal Archives


More than two years ago I promised to post this promo... haha. But hey, I'm good on my word! It's just a matter of when. Anyway, there seems to be a bit of confusion surrounding this promo. They released another demo in 1994 entitled Floating Souls that appears to be the same thing as this demo. They are actually different recordings, it's just that Floating Souls is better produced. This promo has a much fuller and heavier sound than the tinny Floating Souls, making this my release of preference. However, if you're looking for some production in your OSDM (ew), you'll want to head over to Floating Souls.

As previously mentioned, this is a very good-sounding demo, considering their relative obscurity. All members went on to participate in a fuckload of other bands, so I suppose this can be considered the guinea pig experiment that showcases their potential and skill. That's not to say you won't be blown away by this promo. It has a very full and suffocating sound, with fast and furious riffing in its most raw form. Solos are used to great effect, parting the dark stormclouds and letting in that ray of piercing light. "Untitled" holds a particularly powerful solo.

I'll post Floating Souls as well.

No comments:

Post a Comment