1/11/13 UPDATE: All links active.

Friday, January 27, 2012

Paralysis (Grc) - Beyond The Chaos (1992)

Genre: Atmospheric Doom/Death Metal
Country: Greece
Year: 1992

1. Your Life... My Death
2. Born to Suffer
3. Dark Reality

Download at Mediafire
Metal Archives


Multiple name changes here. These guys started out at Paralysis, changed to Phlebotomy in 1993, and finally to the well-known On Thorns I Lay in 1995. This is their first demo, and it really sets the stage for the successful career they've sculpted.

Right out of the box, the mood is set with the eerily disturbing intro. A monologue of sorts, littered with creepy, spacy synths. "Please let me go; I don't want to die..." The same feel is translated through the rest of the demo. I'm hesitant to call it "epic", but it does have a very mysterious and foreboding tone to it all. I feel like The Outsider in Lovecraft's famous early work. Not knowing where I'm going or what I'm going to find, I just keep climbing... the future will reveal itself to me. What will I discover beyond the chaos?

Melody abounds and heavy use of synthesizers aids in the atmosphere surrounding the chaos. Very deep and mystical-sounding, this is like an adventure through your mind. Eerie flute-sounding instruments are used, sprinkled with dangerously-close guitars make this a unique and fascinating listen. Recommended!

No comments:

Post a Comment