1/11/13 UPDATE: All links active.

Sunday, March 28, 2010

Lie in Ruins - Swallowed by the Void (2009)

Genre: Death Metal
Country: Finland
Year: 2009

1. Descent (instrumental intro)
2. I'll Cast My Wrath
3. Crush the Holy
4. Abyss of Demons
5. The Serpent Coils
6. Art of Desecration
7. Damnation
8. Raging Fire
9. Swallowed by the Void
10. Bringer of Desolation

Download at 4shared
Metal Archives


I remember the hype surrounding this album when it was first announced and the artwork released. Lie in Ruins was promising something huge, and to spare you the anticipation, they sure as hell delivered. Swallowed By The Void is in every bit deserving of all the praise they've received with this massive success.

Opening with an eerie, atmospheric intro track, the groundwork is being laid for the rest of this crushing album with slow, steady build-up, leading to the dirty, gritty death metal to follow. A throwback to ways of old, yet with a slightly modern touch, the classic Finnish sound is present, with underlying Swedish influences in the chainsaw riffing style. Quick-paced, Swallowed by the Void is morose and sinister; the listener thrown deep into the thralls of darkness, left to fend for himself, the dark quickly closing in.

With a downright demonic sound, and throaty, raspy vocals, accompanied by a mix of fast and slow riffs, Lie in Ruins recreate that lost sound newer bands can't seem to replicate. Ferocious solos are thrown into many of the songs, further dragging the listener into a state of morbid chaos, weakening any hope to escape.